Selectmen's Meeting Minutes June 19, 2018

Attending for Board of Selectmen: Gary Haley (Chairman), Juli Vanderhoop; Absent: Jim Newman, Jeffrey Madison (Town Administrator)

Others Attending: Vern Welch, Elise LeBovit, Wendy Swolinsky, Spring Sheldon, Jay Smalley

Gary Haley called the meeting to order at 5:33 p.m.

Juli made a motion that the minutes of May 22 and June 5, 2018 be approved without objection. The motion was seconded by Gary and approved unanimously.

Vernon Welch submitted copies of business licenses issued in 2015 and 2018 in the name of d/b/a Alphred's Bait Shop together with letters dated June 10, 2015 and July 13, 2015 concerning operations of fishing related businesses. All of the aforementioned operations are conducted from the shack that Mr. Welch leases from the Town on Menemsha Channel. The Selectmen accepted the documents without comment.

Julie moved and Gary seconded a motion to approve Sam Hart as the local representative on the M. V. Regional High School Facilities Committee. The motion was approved without discussion.

Spring Sheldon made a presentation to the Selectmen that outlined a request from Maker's Table of an event to be held on July 17, 2017 at the Aquinnah Cultural Center. The event for 40 paying customers will feature foods with ingredients from local farms and aquaculture ventures. Beer and wine will be served to guests so they requested a one day victualler's license to serve malt beverages and wine. Juli moved and Gary seconded a motion to allow the issuance of the license and event provided proper proof of insurance and other paperwork required for issuance of the license. The motion passed unanimously.

The following appointments were confirmed unanimously by the Board of Selectmen:

Town Accountant - Emily Day
Treasurer- Sibel Suman
Tax Collector - Wenonah Madison-Sauer
Electrical Inspector - Peter Dawley
Asst. Electrical Inspector - David Schwab
Gas Inspector - George Apostolides
Plumbing Inspector - George Apostolides
Board of Appeals:

James Vercruysse H. Ted Cammann Peter Ives Kathy Newman (alternate)

Board of Registrars: Carolyn Feltz Mallory Butler June Manning Marjorie Spitz Cape Light Compact Representative - Michael Hebert Cable Advisory Board: Richard Skidmore Adam Wilson Cemetery Commission: Eleanor Hebert Fulton Malonson Gabriella Camilleri **Community Preservation Committee:** Derrill Bazzy Mary Elizabeth Pratt Marshall Lee Richard Skidmore Beverly Wright Carolyn Feltz Kathy Newman Bettina Washington Beth Green Juli Vanderhoop Conservation Commission: Sarah Thulin Steve Yaffe Mary Elizabeth Pratt Sibel Suman Kathy Newman Director Public Works - Jay Smalley Emergency Management Director – Gary Robinson Finance Committee: Allen Rugg Mark Foster Tom Murphy Fire Chief - Simon Bollin **Housing Committee** Michael Hebert Derrill Bazzy Tiffany Smalley Mary Elizabeth Pratt

Sophia Welch

Lighthouse Advisory Board:

Len Butler

Open Spot

Richard Skidmore

Elise LeBovit

James Pickman

Open Spot - (to replace Tom Murphy)

Bettina Washington

Open Spot- (to replace Betsey Mayhew)

Library

Rosa Parker - Interim Director

Angela Waldron

Vera Dello-Russo

Jennifer Burquin

Personnel Committee

Kathy Newman

Alexandra Taylor

June Manning

Paul Manning (employee rep.)

Philbin Scholarship Committee

Eleanor Hebert

Roxanne Ackerman

Shellfish Committee - (5)

William Vanderhoop, Jr.

James Sanfillipo

Hollis Smith

Ed Belain

Gordon Perry - (by request)

Vernon Welch - (by request)

Shellfish Constable/Harbormaster

Brian Vanderhoop

William Vanderhoop, Jr. - Deputy

Hollis Smith - Deputy

Town Administrator - Jeffrey Madison

Town Counsel - Ronald Rappaport, Esq.

Dukes County Advisory Board - James Newman

Dukes County Regional Housing Authority - Richard Skidmore

M.V. Center for Living:

June Manning

Adam Wilson

M.V. Cultural Council

Theresa Manning

Elizabeth Witham

Open Spot

M.V. Transit Authority - June Manning

M.V.T.V. Advisory Board - Richard Skidmore

M.V. Resource and Recovery District

Jim Glavin

Megan Ottens Sargent

Tri-Town Ambulance Committee - James Newman

Up-Island Council on Aging:

Kristina Hook-Leslie

June Manning

Open Spot (Jean Lince)

Police Officer - Tyler Moreis

Park and Recreation Committee

Jamie Sue Vanderhoop

Christina Hook-Leslie

Meg Higgins

Sarah Ives

Elise LeBovit

Juli Vanderhoop – Selectmen's representative

Peyton Jeffers – Student representative

William Jette – Student representative

Ann-Marie Ralph – (ex-officio)

Appointment of an assessor as approved at the annual election was postponed pending a meeting with the Board of Assessors. Juli suggested that a notice of open spots be listed on the Town website.

The Selectmen deferred action on notice of an overdue billing by the University of Massachusetts (Dartmouth) requesting payment of the Town's 1/3 share totaling \$31,767.00 for an analysis of Menemsha/Squibnocket estuary. The contract, signed by Camille Rose in 2010, was sent by UMass Dartmouth. Selectmen asked the Town Administrator to further investigate the billing and sources available for payment.

Highway Superintendent, Jay Smalley, presented a contract for mowing at the cemetery. After receiving three (3) bids the lowest was from First Light Tree Company at \$400.00/mowing every 10 days or three times per month. Juli moved and Gary seconded a motion to approve the contract with the company. Jay also gave notice that a portion of Moshup Trail would be paved on June 26.

Juli gave notice of a filming by the Travel Channel at Orange Peel Bakery on June 26.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:20 p.m.